Welcome to Satis

February 11, 2010 at 8:21 pm (introduction, satis) (, , )

There is no uneaten wedding cake rotting in a party room, there are no stopped clocks pointing to a time when the house was alive, but as its name sake my Satis is also, in a way, suspended in time.

It was built around the 30’s or 40’s for a newly wed couple, but was put up for sale shortly after the couple moved in because of the bride’s death.

My great-grandfather purchased it and moved from Texas with his  family which consisted of his wife and four children, although children might not be the best term to call them as my grandfather was by that time in his thirties and the rest of his siblings were also pretty much grown up. Whatever their ages at that time, the family lived pretty much happily at Satis, under its tall roofs, stained glass windows and beautiful architecture.

So how did i come to compare this beautiful house and its beautiful family to the ruined mansion and it’s  crazy mistress in Dickens’ novel? Well there’s the tragic stories of my aunt and uncle which I’ll get into in other posts, but the house alone can speak for itself.

Satis is impeccable, there are no cobwebs hanging from the chandeliers, no thick layers of dust covering its surfaces, but the house is dead, perpetually gloomy  encased in shadows cast by the huge buildings that surround it. There are no plants anywhere inside, just a few artificial roses scattered around vases, and these are ooooold color faded, yellowing roses, you could almost say they look wilted.

No family pictures… a couple of family portraits and even those are gloomy, the newest picture in the house is one of my mother, the fact that she’s been dead for 14 years does not help to liven things up. Nothing changes inside the house, there are at least two tv sets that have round screens (they don’t work of course), there’s a basement full of  travel chests, that’s right not trunks, chests, full of coats, travel clothes and my great-grandmother’s special underwear.

This might seem pretty tame so far,  I mean we all have grandparents or relatives with creepy houses full of knick knacks, or basements and attics full of old things that you never got around to clearing out, however…

I never met my great grandmother, I mean I guess I did as a baby, but I have absolutely no recollection of her in life, and i don’t remember going to her funeral or anything like it, so it’s safe to say she died while i was ver very young, approximately twenty or so years ago, that’s a pretty long time am i right? Well… my aunt took over her room sometime after she died, which is understandable seeing as it is bigger and better lit than her own, also she became the owner of the house which makes moving to the master bedroom pretty standard .

The thing is, most of her stuff (my aunt’s that is) is still in her own bedroom, why? Because all of my great grandmother’s things are still exactly where she left them! All her dresses, clothes, fur coats, underwear  (and I’ll tell you about her underwear), shoes, makeup, jewelery,handbags, everything, Everything!!!

Almost exactly where she left it… and my aunt  sleeps there surrounded by everything her mother left behind. Does she wear or use anything? mostly no, just the jewelery, and i think she had a couple of dresses tailored to fit her, but other than that, it’s pretty much as if my great grandmother still lives there.

So that’s it for now, now you know a little bit about what makes Satis what it is to me, and to finally end this post i give you a few pictures of the house, the quality is awful because i lost my camera and had to take them with my crappy phone.

You can’t see it in the picture, but each window has the portrait of an important Conquistador, and their eyes follow you as you walk up or down the stairs.
Upstairs Hallway, it’s actually like a horse shoe this being the middle part, my room is behind me, the  bathroom i use is the door you kinda get to see at the other side, going to the bathroom in the middle of the night? Yeah, i avoid it as much as i can.
Looks kinda sunny doesn’t it? Well the living room gets that light only a couple of hours around noon, then it resumes being gloomy as hell.

1 Comment

  1. Gettysburg Mom said,

    It looks like a crazy beautiful house. And you’re right that the living room looks all sunny- not gloomy at all. A bit different than my 70’s style split level ranch. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

