Introductions…

February 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm (introduction) ()

First post… it’s a little intimidating, but here we go…

Let me start by saying that this blog really has nothing to do with Dickens’ novel Great Expectations, except that whenever I thought of my aunt or her house, thoughts of Miss Havisham and Satis House inevitably popped up into my mind, that being said I apologize to anyone who comes here looking for things actually related to the novel (Sorry guys!).

Noooooow, as to the purpose of this blog…  I left home a couple of months ago, moved to the big city with a head full of dreams of freedom and independence,  i thought that upon arriving i would be showered with job opportunities, that a i would instantly make a decent living and be able to afford a place of my own.

You can tell where this is going can’t you?…

Needless to say none of it happened the way i planned, my aunt had always told me that i could come live with her, but i always had my reservations, because, as you will see in later posts, she’s  (and i say this with both love and respect) kind of weird. And also i was holding some sort of grudge against her for her wanting me to replace my mother (Confused? I promise i will write about his in a nother post).

I finally caved, swallowed my pride and asked her if it was ok for me to stay with her for a while…. And so here i am, i have to say I’ve been pleasantly surprised as to what my life here has been like  and I’m incredibly grateful to them (i forgot to mention, my uncle lives here too) for taking me in.

However, they are sooo weird, and the things they do and how they live are so incredibly surreal for me sometimes, that I could not keep this experience all to my self,  so i give to you (drumroll please…) my life in Satis House!

2 Comments

  1. cristinsblog said,

    I came over from the Dooce Community. It is kind of funny reading your post because I am in an eerily similar situation and moving in with my older brother and sister in law in May. They live in a castle (yes, I swear) and I imagine it will be like The Secret Garden, where Mary wanders among the forgotten rooms.
    I can’t wait to read more!

    • estellahvshm said,

      You live in a castle? That is awsome! Oh you’re going to have great time snooping around the house, how does one end up living in a castle this days?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

